Hello all, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy. I hope you’re all well. As my first (proper) blog post, I thought I’d write about my all time favourite books. Personally, I find that it’s quite difficult for books to make my “all time favourites” list, purely because I won’t class a book as a “favourite” unless it is absolutely amazing. So, here’s a list of my all time favourite books, in no particular order. They’re all books that made me feel deeply emotional, and have helped to shape me as a person. Here goes…


The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins.

image2 (1)

“EVERY DAY THE SAME.

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens.

She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

UNTIL TODAY.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see: she’s much more than just the girl on the train…”

Why?

This book is hyped about for a clear reason. It’s full of suspense and surprises, and the twist at the end was shocking and just phenomenal. I ended up really relating to Rachel’s character and hanging onto her every word. It’s very dark and different to anything I’ve ever read before, which is probably why I loved it so much. And since reading this, I’ve gotten much more into Thrillers. I recommend everybody to give this a go.

 

 


Saving Grace by Jane Green.

image3

“Grace Chapman has an enviable set-up, living comfortably with her husband, bestselling author Ted, in a picture-perfect farmhouse on the Hudson River in New York state.

Then Ted advertises for a new assistant, and Beth walks into their lives. Organized, passionate and eager to learn, Beth quickly makes herself indispensable to Ted and his family. But Grace soon begins to feel sidelined in her home – and her marriage – by this ambitious younger woman.

Is Grace just paranoid, as her husband tells her, or is there more to Beth than there first appears?”

Why?

This was the first book I ever read by Jane Green. It started off very slowly and I wasn’t enjoying it very much to begin with. But then a new character, Beth, is introduced and enters the protagonists’ lives and from then on, the book is full of excitement. I found myself not wanting to put this down, and really related to Grace as a character. Very unexpected turn of events, and I absolutely loved it.

 

 


A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

image4

“Mariam is only fifteen when she is sent to Kabul to marry Rasheed. Nearly two decades later, a friendship grows between Mariam and a local teenager, Laila, as strong as the ties between mother and daughter. When the Taliban take over, life becomes a desperate struggle against starvation, brutality and fear. Yet love can move people to act in unexpected ways, and lead them to overcome the most daunting obstacles with startling heroism.”

Why?

Khaled Hosseini’s books are epic and very emotional. I read ‘The Kite Runner’ a couple of years ago as part of my English Literature A-level, but enjoyed this much more. Whilst reading, I really immersed myself in the culture, and I was extremely scared for both Laila and Mariam throughout. Hosseini is extremely talented and the issues explored in this book are horrific and shocking. This book is amazing and epic. A must-read.

 

 


The Shock Of The Fall by Nathan Filer.

image5

“I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.”

Why?

This is possibly my all-time favourite book. I love the way in which it is written, beginning in a child’s perspective (Matt) and following him as he grows up. The book is all about the death of his brother Simon and the secrets surrounding his death, and how Matt is affected throughout his life by the loss. The book addressed many difficult issues and I read this all for the first time in one sitting – I was absolutely hooked. Highly recommend this book.

 

 


The Sea Sisters by Lucy Clarke.

image6

“There are some currents in the relationship between sisters that run so dark and so deep, it’s better for the people swimming on the surface never to know what’s beneath…

Katie’s carefully structured world is shattered by the news that her headstrong younger sister, Mia, has been found dead in Bali – and the police claim it was suicide.

With only the entries of Mia’s travel journal as her guide, Katie retraces the last few months of her sister’s life, and – page by page, country by country – begins to uncover the mystery surrounding her death.

What she discovers changes everything. But will her search for the truth push their sisterly bond – and Katie – to breaking point?”

Why?

This is a very easy read and perfect for everyone. I became obsessed with this book, and was fully immersed in Katie’s world. The book follows Katie, who refuses to believe that her sister Mia committed suicide, and she searches for the secrets surrounding her death. I felt a variety of different emotions whilst reading. This is a perfect summer read with a very good story.

 

 


Looking For Alaska by John Green.

image7

“In the dark beside me, she smelled of sweat and sunshine and vanilla, and on that thin-mooned night I could see little more than her silhouette, but even in the dark, I could see her eyes – fierce emeralds. And not just beautiful, but hot too.”

“Alaska Young. Gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, screwed up – and utterly fascinating. Miles Halter could not be more in love with her. But when tragedy strikes, Miles discovers the value and the pain of living and loving unconditionally.

Nothing will ever be the same.

Why?

This is definitely my favourite book by John Green. I favoured this over The Fault In Our Stars, and I really disliked Paper Towns (sorry!). I loved Miles’ obsession with Alaska, and found myself rooting for the couple. Then something completely unexpected happens, and I was genuinely shocked. I think I even shed a few tears! Heartfelt and sad.

 

 


Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

image8

“Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

Why?

It goes without saying that this is one of my all-time favourite books. I became completely obsessed with the book, really hoping that Louisa and Will would end up together, even though the odds were stacked against them. The book has a very shocking twist which absolutely broke my heart, and it is definitely not your average love story. It was completely unexpected and I cried many tears. If you haven’t read this yet, you need to!

 

 


Room by Emma Donoghue.

image9

“Jack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don’t have the key.

Jack and Ma are prisoners.

Room by Emma Donoghue is an extraordinarily powerful story of a mother and child kept in isolation, and the desire for, and price of, freedom.”

Why?

I absolutely adore this book. The story is unique and powerful, following Jack and his Ma from when they are trapped in the “room” to when they escape to the outside world. I loved the fact it was narrated by a five year old boy who obviously had many difficulties – it was unlike anything I’ve ever read before. It was epic and shocking, and I recommend this book to everybody!

 

 


White Oleander by Janet Finch.

image10

“A passionate, hypnotic and dangerous novel about a daughter and her mother.

Astrid has been raised by her mother, Ingrid, a beautiful, headstrong poet. Astrid’s world revolves around Ingrid; she forgives her everything. Until Ingrid murders a former lover and is imprisoned for life…”

Why?

This is mainly on here because I loved the style in which it is written. It is written beautifully, and Finch’s prose is poetic and charming. I became fully immersed in Astrid’s life, as the book follows her from home to home whilst she struggles to belong. The story is shocking and beautifully sad.

 

 


Letters To The Lost by Iona Grey.

image11

“1943, in the ruins of Blitzed London…
Stella Thorne and Dan Rosinski meet by chance and fall in love by accident. Theirs is a reluctant, unstoppable affair in which all the odds are stacked against them: she is newly married, and he is an American bomber pilot whose chance of survival is just one in five.
… He promised to love her forever
Seventy years later Dan makes one final attempt to find the girl he has never forgotten, and sends a letter to the house where they shared a brief yet perfect happiness. But Stella has gone, and the letter is opened by Jess, a young girl hiding from problems of her own. And as Jess reads Dan’s words, she is captivated by the story of a love affair that burned so bright and dimmed too soon. Can she help Dan find Stella before it is too late?
Now forever is finally running out.”

Why?

This is not my usual type of book, as I’m not usually interested in historical love stories. But I absolutely adored this book. I almost became part of the story, hoping that one day the obstacles surrounding Stella and Dan would ease and they would end up together. Epic and heartbreaking.

 


Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier.

image12

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . .

Working as a lady’s companion, the orphaned heroine of Rebecca learns her place. Life begins to look very bleak until, on a trip to the South of France, she meets Maxim de Winter, a handsome widower whose sudden proposal of marriage takes her by surprise. Whisked from glamorous Monte Carlo to his brooding estate, Manderley, on the Cornish Coast, the new Mrs de Winter finds Max a changed man. And the memory of his dead wife Rebecca is forever kept alive by the forbidding Mrs Danvers . . .

Not since Jane Eyre has a heroine faced such difficulty with the Other Woman. An international bestseller that has never gone out of print, Rebecca is the haunting story of a young girl consumed by love and the struggle to find her identity.”

Why?

I’ve loved this book for years, and it’s always been one of my favourites. It was my grandmother’s favourite book and my Mom loved it too. I loved the portrayal of Manderley and the protagonist’s and Maxim’s relationship, and have read this over and over again. This book is extremely relatable and highly addictive. A must read.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

11 thoughts on “My All Time Favourite Books 2016

Leave a Reply

