Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! In this post, I’ll be discussing the top 10 books on my TBR list. These are books which I own and are currently sat on my bookshelf, waiting to be picked up and read. I have an awful lot of books on my bookshelf which I haven’t read for various reasons. I’ve been given a lot of books in the past which I haven’t got round to reading yet, and earlier this year I picked up around 30 books which were being given away and I re-homed them. These 10 books are on this list for very specific reasons, and I can’t wait to actually have the time to read them! Many of these books I picked up in my Summer 2016 Book Haul. So in no specific order, here are the top 10 books on my TBR (to be read) list:

 

 


Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight.

image2-10

The very worst crimes are those we commit against the ones we love

Motherhood hasn’t come at all easy for Molly Anderson. But she’s finally enjoying life as mother to five-year-old Ella and as Arts reporter for the small but respectable Ridgedale Reader. That is, until a body is found in the woods adjacent to Ridgedale University’s ivy-covered campus. This is a discovery that threatens to unearth secrets long buried by the town’s most powerful residents, and brings Molly to two women who are far more deeply connected than they have ever realised.

 

Why?

This book has actually been sitting on my bookshelf for quite a long time. I picked this up towards the beginning of this year when I ordered a bunch of books second-hand off Amazon. I don’t really know why I haven’t read this yet – I really need to. I’ve gotten a lot of new books since this and I guess it’s just been pushed to the back of my mind. But now that I think about it, I really need to read this.

I came to hear of this book via Pinterest, listed on a “must-reads” type of article. I really like the sound of this and I think it has the potential to be brilliant. I really need to get cracking on this ASAP!

 


The Hand That First Held Mine by Maggie O’Farrell.

image11 (1)

When the sophisticated Innes Kent turns up on her doorstep, Lexie Sinclair realises she cannot wait any longer for her life to begin, and leaves for London. There, at the heart of the 1950s Soho art scene, she carves out a new life. In the present day, Elina and Ted are reeling from the difficult birth of their first child. Elina struggles to reconcile the demands of motherhood with her sense of herself as an artist, and Ted is disturbed by memories of his own childhood that don’t tally with his parents’ version of events. As Ted begins to search for answers, an extraordinary portrait of two women is revealed, separated by fifty years, but connected in ways that neither could ever have expected.

 

Why?

I picked this book up in my Summer 2016 Book Haul. I remember being delighted when I found this in Oxfam for about £2 or £3, and it was a beautiful hardback copy too. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf for about 2 months or so now, and I really need to get going with this.

This isn’t the type of book I’d usually pick up, but I was intrigued by the blurb – and I think it’s always good to try and read different books than usual. I’ve also heard Maggie O’Farrell talked about a lot, so thought I would give this a go. I’m intrigued to discover whether I’ll enjoy this or not, and if I do I’ll give some of her other books a go!

 


The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.

image4-4

Two brothers. One mute, the other his lifelong protector.

Year after year, their family visits the same sacred shrine on a desolate strip of coastline known as the Loney, in desperate hope of a cure.

In the long hours of waiting, the boys are left alone. And they cannot resist the causeway revealed with every turn of the treacherous tide, the old house they glimpse at its end . . .

Many years on, Hanny is a grown man no longer in need of his brother’s care.

But then the child’s body is found.

And the Loney always gives up its secrets, in the end.

 

Why?

I picked this up when I worked at Glastonbury this Summer, which you can read all about here. I’d gone down without any books to read, which I soon realised was a big mistake. So I picked this up from the nearest Tesco in Shepton Mallet, along with another book too.

My friend read this whilst we were actually at the festival and I read another book, and then we planned to swap. However, I never actually had time to read this as we got very busy when the festival began, so it’s been sitting on my bookshelf since…the end of June. My friend really enjoyed this and keeps telling me I need to read it!

 


Love Anthony by Lisa Genova.

image6 (2)

‘I’m always learning about how my brain doesn’t work right . . . But it doesn’t feel broken to me.’

Olivia Donatelli’s dream of a ‘normal’ life was shattered when her son, Anthony, was diagnosed with autism at age three. He didn’t speak, hated to be touched, almost never made eye contact. Then, just as Olivia was learning that happiness and autism could coexist after all, Anthony was gone.

Now she’s alone on Nantucket, desperate to find meaning in her son’s short life, when a chance encounter with another woman, Beth, brings Anthony alive again in a most unexpected way. In a piercing story about motherhood, autism and love, two unforgettable women discover the small but exuberant voice that leads them both to the answers they need.

 

Why?

Again, I picked this up in my Summer 2016 Book Haul. I can’t remember which charity shop I got this from, but I managed to pick up a copy very cheap. This has been on my bookshelf for about 2 or 3 months, and I really should get reading very soon.

I’ve already read two of Lisa Genova’s books – ‘Left Neglected’ and ‘Inside The O’Briens’ (I really need to pick up ‘Still Alice’), and I really enjoyed them. Although her books aren’t my absolute favourites, I always really enjoy them, and I’ll continue to keep reading Genova’s novels!

 

 


Disclaimer by Renee Knight.

image5-4

When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine’s bedside table, she curls up and begins to read.

But as she turns the pages she is horrified to realize she is a key character, a main player.

This story will reveal her darkest secret.

A secret she thought no one else knew…

 

Why?

I’ve never read any of Renee Knight’s books before, and from the sounds of it, ‘Disclaimer’ is her best work so far. I stumbled upon this on a list of “Books similar to The Girl On The Train” on Pinterest. For those of you who don’t know, I love Paula Hawkin’s ‘The Girl On The Train’, and I talked about it here. In fact, since that book, I’ve gotten really into Thrillers. And this seems like a great one to add to my list!

I actually picked this up when I went on holiday to Corfu last month (I swapped a couple of books with ones that the hotel provided). So it’s only been sitting on my bookshelf for around a month (one of the shortest times on this list), but I’m dying to get started on this. I really hope I enjoy it!

 


Another Night, Another Day by Sarah Rayner.

image5 (3)

Three people, each crying out for help . . .

There’s Karen, worried about her dying father; Abby, whose son has autism and needs constant care; and Michael, a family man on the verge of bankruptcy. As each sinks under the strain, they’re brought together at Moreland’s Clinic. Here, behind closed doors, they reveal their deepest secrets, confront and console one another and share plenty of laughs. But how will they cope when a new crisis strikes?

 

Why?

Another one I talked about in my Summer 2016 Book Haul. I can’t remember which charity shop I got this from, but again it was very cheap. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf for about 2 months or so now.

I distinctly remember seeing this listed on Pinterest as a “must-read”, and it’s the type of book I usually go for. I haven’t heard much about Sarah Rayner before, but she has released a fair few novels and also non-fiction books. Who knows, maybe she’ll become one of my new favourite authors?

 


I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh.

image3-5

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . . .

 

Why?

I picked this book up only last week, for £2.50 from a Cancer Research charity shop. I’ve been desperate to read this for absolutely ages, and I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled for this in charity shops – I’m so happy I’ve finally found it!

This book has been raved about all over Pinterest, and I can already tell that I’m going to absolutely love this. I’ve also heard a lot about her newest novel ‘I See You’, so I know I’m going to have to read that one too. This is probably the book I’m most excited about on my TBR list!

 


Us by David Nicholls.

image1 (6)

 

Why?

This is another book I picked up in my Summer 2016 Book Haul. Similarly to some of the others, I picked this up from a charity shop for £2 or £3. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf for 2 or 3 months now.

This isn’t the type of book I usually go for – from the blurb it appears more of a conventional Rom-Com, and I have heard that it’s pretty funny. However, I have seen many people talking about this book and it’s rated very highly, so I thought I’d give it a go!

 


The Peacock Emporium by Jojo Moyes.

image1-11

Athene Forster embraced the Sixties like few others. Nicknamed the Last Deb, she was spoiled, beautiful, and out of control. And within two years of her marriage, the rumours had begun again.

Thirty-five years on, Suzanna Peacock finds refuge from her mother’s shameful legacy in her shop, the Peacock Emporium. Within its magical walls she discovers not just friendship, and an escape from her troubled marriage, but the first real passion of her life.

But the spectre of her mother still haunts Suzanna, setting in place a series of dramatic events. Only by confronting the past will she finally be able to face the future . . .

 

Why?

I have a confession to make. I completely forgot that I had this book, so it’s been collecting dust on my bookshelf since around the beginning of the year. If I cast my mind back, I remember picking this up at the Oxfam around the corner from my university. I can’t believe I forgot about this!

For those of you who don’t know, I absolutely love Jojo Moyes. Her novel ‘Me Before You’ is exceptional, and I talked about it here. The sequel to that, ‘After You’, is also pretty spectacular. I’ve also read ‘The Last Letter From Your Lover’ and ‘Night Music’ by Moyes, and I really enjoyed them both. I need to read this very soon!

 


The Patchwork Marriage by Jane Green.

image3 (3)

When he asked her to be his wife, he also wanted a mother for his children . . .

When Andi marries Ethan she gets a ready-made family in the shape of his daughters Emily and Sophia. Unable to have a child of her own, and crazy in love with Ethan, she has a chance to make the perfect family. But teenager Emily’s hostility leaves Andi feeling hated in her own home.

And worse, Ethan, blinded by love for his daughter, cannot see that her behaviour is driving a wedge through their marriage. So when Andi and Ethan’s world is rocked by an act of recklessness, Andi knows that their whole future is in doubt.

Can Andi and Ethan heal the rift in their relationship?
Can each of them find enough love to go around?
And how strong can a patchwork marriage ever be?

 

Why?

I picked this up in my most recent haul from a charity shop. I’ve been really wanting to read this for ages, and I’ve been looking out for it in charity shops, so I was really chuffed when I managed to find a copy. This has been sitting on my bookshelf for about 2 months now.

I love Jane Green – she’s definitely one of my favourite authors. I loved ‘Saving Grace’, ‘Second Change’ and ‘Tempting Fate’, and I plan to read so many more of Green’s novels (she has a lot!) Sitting on my bookshelf is also ‘Babyville’, which I hope to read soon. ‘The Patchwork Marriage’ sounds like it’s going to be really good, and I can’t wait to read this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Books On My TBR List: Autumn 2016

Leave a Reply

