Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy. I hope you’re all well. This is a post I’ve been wanting to do for a while – a tour around my bookcase. I’ve been carefully organising and collecting books to fill my bookshelves for months, and I finally feel that I have enough to write this post! This is going to be a tour using pictures: I’ll post a picture of each shelf and talk you through what exactly is on this shelf and why. And if there’s anything extra special on that shelf, I’ll mention that too! I hope you enjoy my bookcase tour! Here goes…

 


thumbnail_image2

Here’s a picture of my entire bookcase. It’s located between my desk/dressing table and my window. The first thing you’ll notice is that my bookshelf is completely full, and there really isn’t room for any more books. The first couple of shelves are actually so weighed down by books that they’re bending! As soon as I accumulate some more books, I’ll be getting some more bookshelves. And as you can probably tell, my bookshelves are actually different sizes, meaning that the hardbacks have to be kept on specific shelves.

 

 


thumbnail_image4

This is the top shelf of my bookcase. On the first three shelves in my bookcase, I keep fiction, organised A-Z by author’s surname. So here I have fiction from authors A-F. The three squeezed on the top are simply there because I don’t have enough room to stand them up next to the others! Here I have authors from the likes of Cecilia Ahern, Linwood Barclay, Paula Daly, Michael Faber and more. As I discussed in my recent TBR blog post , I haven’t read all of the books on my bookshelves.

The most significant book on this shelf is probably my copy of ‘Second Time Around’ by Colette Caddle. I won a signed copy of this around a month ago, after entering a Twitter competition. You can follow my Twitter here.

 

 


thumbnail_image5

This is the second-from-top bookshelf. Similarly to the top shelf, the author’s surnames are organised alphabetically, with a few extras squeezed on the top! On this shelf are well-known authors such as Lisa Genova, Thomas Harris, Lisa Jewell, Dorothy Koomson and much more.

The books on this shelf which are most special to me are the ‘Hannibal’ series by Thomas Harris. These were passed down to me by my Dad, so they must be around __ years old. I love getting books which have a lot of history!

 

 


thumbnail_image7

This is the final bookshelf that is general fiction, organised alphabetically by author’s surname. This shelf is larger than the previous two, meaning I’ve managed to squeeze nine books on the top! Books by authors such as Liane Moriarty, David Nicholls, Maggie O’Farrell and Jodi Picoult sit here.

I’m a real lover of beautiful hardback books, so my favourite books on this shelf are my copies of ‘The Quality Of Silence’ by Rosamund Lupton, ‘The Hand That First Held Mine’ by Maggie O’Farrell and ‘The Age Of Miracles’ by Karen Thompson Walker.

 

 


thumbnail_image9

This is a very important shelf within my bookcase. This shelf has quite a mixture I suppose: it contains my favourite literary Classics and “older” books, and what I’m studying at university this year. The left hand side contains the Classics and “older” books, and the right hand side contains books I’m studying at university this year (you can read all about that here). The left hand side contains books from the likes of Jane Austen, The Brontes, Bram Stoker and more, and the right hand side contains books from George Eliot, Charles Dickens, Mary Shelley and more.

My favourite books on this shelf are without a doubt my beautiful copies of ‘Jane Austen: Seven Novels’ and ‘The Bronte Sisters: Three Novels’. These were gifted to me by my Great Uncle and Auntie, who were over the moon when they discovered I’m studying Creative Writing and potentially could become a writer. My Great Uncle is now quite ill, so these books mean an awful lot to me.

 

 


thumbnail_image11

This is the penultimate shelf in my bookcase which I call my “miscellaneous” shelf. This just contains any books which don’t really fit into any other categories on my bookshelves. On the left hand side there are books/plays/poetry anthologies which I studied last year at university, and on the right hand side are books which I used to love as a young teenager. I can’t face throwing away ANY books, so whilst a lot of my friends have sold their books from last year’s university studies, I just really don’t want to throw them away.

I don’t really know what the most significant books on this shelf are. Perhaps the ‘Hunger Games’ series by Suzanne Collins, or the ‘Divergent’ series by Veronica Roth. These are books which I wouldn’t read now, simply because I’m older and my tastes have changed, but they hold happy memories for me of when I was a young teenager!

 

 


thumbnail_image13

This is the final shelf in my bookcase: My “Favourites” shelf. As you can probably guess, this contains my all-time favourite books. I talked through this entire shelf in my first proper blog post, which you can find here. However, there are some new additions to this shelf since then, and anyway, I can’t miss out the most important shelf in my bookcase tour! These books are not necessarily ALL my favourites, but I like to keep all the books I own by the same author together. Books from authors such as Jane Green, Khaled Hosseini, John Green and Jojo Moyes sit here.

I couldn’t possibly choose a favourite book from this shelf, as they’re all favourites! But I do love my hardback copies of ‘The Girl On The Train’ by Paula Hawkins, ‘The Language Of Flowers’ by Vanessa Diffenbaugh and ‘Saving Grace’ by Jane Green; and my copy of ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier holds a lot of sentimental value for me.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

