Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. This post is going to be an exciting book haul! I placed a big order on Amazon recently and picked up a fair few books. All these books were “used”, but are all in very good condition – and were very cheap too! I’ll be showing you the covers, the blurbs, and explaining exactly why I got each particular book. Here goes…

 

 

 

The Accidental Husband by Jane Green.

image1-16

Jane Green’s The Accidental Husband is a powerful story about two women connected by an earth-shattering secret.

Maggie and Sylvie are perfect strangers: two very different women, living very different lives on opposite coasts. But they share more in common than they could ever imagine.

Both women have beautiful children on the verge of flying the nest, the home they worked hard to build and always longed for, and a handsome and devoted husband they can’t believe belongs to them. Both women think their lives are seamlessly secure, but they couldn’t be more wrong . . .

For each is about to discover a secret that will shake their world to the very core, throwing into doubt everything they ever thought they knew, and bringing Maggie and Sylvie together in the most unexpected way.

Why?

By now, most of you are probably aware of my love for Jane Green’s novels. She’s one of my all-time favourite authors, and I’ve enjoyed every single book of hers that I’ve read. Her books are always light-hearted and easy to read, and her character constructions are especially brilliant. I was really intrigued by the blurb of this novel, and I’m sure I’ll love it!

 

 

Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton.

image2-15

Megan doesn’t speak. She hasn’t spoken in months.

Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan’s head – things that are screaming to be heard – that she cannot, must not, let out.

Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can’t quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.

Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?

Why?

I don’t really read a lot of Young Adult Fiction, but recently I’ve been really trying to broaden my horizons and read a wide array of different genres. I saw this novel mentioned on Pinterest as one of the “Best YA novels” and thought I would give it a go. The blurb actually sounds really good, and I’m intrigued – I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with a protagonist who refuses to speak! Really excited to read this.

 

 

The Innocents by Francesca Segal.

image5-7

What if everything you’d ever wanted was no longer enough?

Adam and Rachel are getting married at last. Childhood sweethearts whose lives and families have been intertwined for years; theirs is set to be the wedding of the year.

But then Rachel’s cousin Ellie makes an unexpected return to the family fold. Beautiful, reckless and troubled, Ellie represents everything that Adam has tried all his life to avoid – and everything that is missing from his world. As the long-awaited wedding approaches, Adam is torn between duty and temptation, security and freedom, and must make a choice that will break either one heart, or many.

Why?

I stumbled upon this book by researching the winners of the Costa Book Awards over the years. The Costa Book Awards are my all-time favourite book awards, and I’ve read many books that have been shortlisted or have even won awards i.e. Nathan Filer’s ‘The Shock Of The Fall’ (talked about here), Kate Hamer’s ‘The Girl In The Red Coat’, and Mark Haddon’s ‘The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time’ (back when the Costa Awards were the Whitbread Awards). ‘The Innocents’ won the Costa First Novel Award in 2012, and sounds like the kind of family drama that I love.

 

 

The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney.

image1-14

Who can she trust
If she can’t trust herself?

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business . . . They have everything.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack.

Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David’s darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar’s Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney’s debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from . . .

Why?

I’m loving psychological thrillers at the moment – I can’t seem to get enough of them! This was mentioned as a book similar to Paula Hawkin’s ‘The Girl On The Train’ (which I love), and I really like the sound of this. I haven’t read a psychological thriller with a story similar to this yet – let’s hope I love it!

 

 

Grace Williams Says It Loud by Emma Henderson.

image1-18

The doctors said no more could be done and advised Grace’s parents to put her away.

On her first day at the Briar Mental Institute, Grace, aged eleven, meets Daniel.

Debonair Daniel, an epileptic who can type with his feet, sees a different Grace: someone to share secrets and canoodle with, someone to fight for.

A deeply affecting, spirit-soaring story of love against the odds.

Why?

This is another YA novel and I’m pretty sure I’ll love this. The story sounds magnificent and I can tell that this is going to be a very emotional, moving read. I saw this on Pinterest, pinned as a book that deals well with mental illness (which is very close to my heart). This novel has been shortlisted for and has won a wide variety of awards, and I really cannot wait to read this!

 

 

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison.

image7-4

Having nothing left to lose changes everything.

Todd and Jodie have been together for more than twenty years. They are both aware their world is in crisis, though neither is willing to admit it.

Todd is living a dual existence, while Jodie is living in denial. But she also likes to settle scores. When it becomes clear their affluent Chicago lifestyle could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows everything is at stake. It’s only now she will discover just how much she’s truly capable of…

Shocking and compelling in equal measure, THE SILENT WIFE is a chilling portrayal of two people in turmoil and the lengths they will go to in order to protect themselves.

Why?

This is another thriller apparently similar to Paula Hawkin’s ‘The Girl On The Train’. The blurb doesn’t give too much away here and I really am intrigued. It’s soon to be made into a film starring Nicole Kidman – so I definitely want to jump on the bandwagon before the film is made (I find it’s always best to read the book before watching the film!) This sounds really good and I hope I enjoy it.

 

 

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

image5-8

You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life . . .

Forever.

Why?

Another YA novel! I’ve actually already managed to read this, but don’t worry, I won’t give too much away! I was really really intrigued by the plot to this novel, and I think it’s a really unique idea. I’d been wanting to read this for absolutely ages, and a close friend of mine loves this book. I did really enjoy it (I’ll update you in more detail soon!

 

 

The Making Of Us by Lisa Jewell.

image3-11

Lydia, Robyn and Dean don’t know each other – yet.

They live very different lives but each of them, independently, has always felt that something is missing.

What they don’t know is that a letter is about to arrive that will turn their lives upside down.

It is a letter containing a secret – one that will bind them together, and show them what love and family and friendship really mean…

Why?

I’ve read Lisa Jewell’s ‘The House We Grew Up In’ and really enjoyed it, and since then I’ve been wanting to read more of her novels. This sounds like the sort of family and friendship mystery/drama that I usually enjoy, so I’m excited to give this a go! If I enjoy this I’ll definitely read more of Jewell’s novels in the future.

 

 

The Never List by Koethi Zan.

image1-17

NEVER GO OUT ALONE AFTER DARK

For years, Sarah and Jennifer kept the Never List: a list of things to be avoided at all costs.

NEVER GET IN THE CAR

But one night, they broke their own rules – with horrifying consequences.

NEVER TAKE RISKS

Sarah has spent ten years trying to forget her terrifying ordeal. But it seems the killer has not forgotten her…

NEVER TRUST ANYONE

Why?

This is another psychological thriller – there seems to be quite a theme going on here of YA novels and Thrillers! This is likened to Gillian Flynn’s ‘Gone Girl’ (which I haven’t actually got round to reading yet) and it seems to be more on the murder/crime side. I don’t always enjoy novels that deal with murder, but this one sounds really good and I’m willing to give it a go and broaden my horizons a bit!

 

 

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen.

image3-10

I’m Annabel. I’m the girl who has it all. Model looks, confidence. A great social life. I’m one of the lucky ones. Aren’t I?

My ‘best friend’ is spreading rumours about me. My family is slowly falling apart. It’s turning into a long, lonely summer, full of secrets and silence.

But I’ve met this guy who won’t let me hide away. He’s one of those intense types, obsessed with music. He’s determined to make me listen. And he’s determined to make me smile. But can he help me forget what happened the night everything changed?

Why?

And a final YA novel! I’ve heard a lot about Sarah Dessen’s novels and lots of people really love them. This sounds like the perfect mix between romance and mystery, and I’m really hoping I’ll like this. It’s not my usual kind of novel, but I really am trying to be more open-minded and try out new and different books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Autumn 2016 Amazon Book Haul

  1. So you got so many books ALL IN ONE GO? Wooow, so jealous. Used or not, it is SUCH a pleasure getting so many.
    The “Unspeakable” has such a beautiful cover, in my opinion. In fact, most of them do. Oh my, especially the last one.. One big pro of actual real paper books. Unfortunately, due to my region I mainly just get ebooks -.-
    The silent wife might be on my TBR, actually.

    So let me get this straight, you just got these, haven’t read them yet? Hope you enjoy them 🙂 Reviews to come?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I did! I hadn’t done a big book haul since the Summer so thought I’d treat myself haha. It definitely is! Yes I love the covers of most of these. Paper books are the way forwards – I’ve tried eBooks in the past but they just weren’t the same for me personally. Fair enough! Yes I haven’t had chance to read these yet. Thanks – and yes reviews will be coming of the ones I really enjoy!

      Like

  2. I read Just Listen as a teenager and absolutely loved it. Same goes for other Sarah Dessen books, her way of writing was really up my alley back in the day. I wonder if i’d still enjoy it now that I’m in my 20s. The Innocents sounds interesting too, and the name sounds familiar. This is really giving me inspiration in terms of choosing my next book to read. Cheers!

    Anyhow, I’m reaching out to ask if you’d be interested in sharing your thoughts and opinions on Creators. We’re all about helping writers increase their audiences, taking their writing to the next level and sharing their work with other enthusiasts. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information, I’d love to hear from you. My contact details are on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really?! Ah I’ll have to read that very soon! Yes it’s always interesting to think about whether you’d still love a book years later. I’m glad, and you’re welcome! I’ll have a look into it and get back to you. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

