Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all well. This blog post is going to be ANOTHER book haul (you can read about the other books I got recently here). I’ve been buying way too many books recently – but I’m definitely going to take a break on the spending now and read some that I already own! The next books I obtain will probably be for Christmas (hopefully!) I purchased all these books from my local Oxfam store. They’re all used and pre-loved, but I personally think that makes them more special. They were all between £2-£3, and I highly recommend to all of you reading this that you purchase books from your local charity shop – it really does help! So, here goes….

 

 

 


The Accident by C.L. Taylor.

image7-6

KEEPING THIS SECRET WAS KILLING HER…

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …

Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

Why?

I read (and reviewed) C.L. Taylor’s ‘The Lie’ during the Summer, and I absolutely loved it. It quickly became one of my all-time favourite books, and I vowed to pick up C.L. Taylor’s other novels as soon as I had the chance. So, when I saw this in my local Oxfam I just couldn’t resist!  I really hope I love it as much as I loved ‘The Lie’ – I have a good feeling about this one!

 

 

 

A Song For Issy Bradley by Carys Bray.

image5-11

Meet the Bradleys.

In lots of ways, they’re a normal family:
Zippy is sixteen and in love for the first time; Al is thirteen and dreams of playing for Liverpool.

And in some ways, they’re a bit different:
Seven-year-old Jacob believes in miracles. So does his dad.

But these days their mum doesn’t believe in anything, not even getting out of bed.

How does life go on, now that Issy is gone?

Why?

I’d heard a lot of brilliant things about this book, and it had been on my wish list for a while. As soon as I saw this in Oxfam, I got really excited and had to buy it! It’s YA and as I’ve mentioned a few times recently, I don’t usually read much YA, but I’m really trying to broaden my horizons and read different genres. I’m going to be 100% honest with you all here – I read about 100 pages of this and then put it down. It wasn’t badly written but I just couldn’t relate to the novel at all. I’ll talk more about why I didn’t like this book soon, so stay tuned for that!

 

 

 

The Loving Husband by Christobel Kent.

image3-13

For fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Silent Wife, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems…

Fran Hall and her husband Nathan have moved with their two children to a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens – a chance to get away from London and have a fresh start.

But when Fran wakes one night to find Nathan gone, she makes a devastating discovery. As questions about her husband and her relationships start to mount, Fran’s life begins to spiral out of control.

What is she hiding from the police about her marriage, and does she really know the man she shared her bed with?

Why?

I’ve seen this spoken about all over Pinterest as a novel similar to Paula Hawkin’s ‘The Girl On The Train’ (which I love). I’m loving Thrillers at the moment – I just want to read them all the time! I really like the sound of this; it sounds exactly like the sort of domestic thriller I’d love. I’ve heard a lot about this novel, and I’m really excited to give it a read!

 

 

 

Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult.

image1-22

It was meant to be the holiday of a lifetime.

But instead of a hotel, the O’Keefes spend the first night in jail, their youngest daughter in hospital, and her sister in care.

Willow O’Keefe has brittle bone disease, and without a doctor’s note the breaks in her body look like the worst kind of abuse.

Back home, still reeling from their ordeal, her parents know something must be done. So when a lawyer offers to take their case, it feels like a lifeline.

Even though it means suing their closest friend – and claiming they wish Willow had never been born .

Why?

Okay, I have a confession to make: I’ve never actually read anything by Jodi Picoult. Surprising, I know, as I love authors like Jane Green and Jojo Moyes. Picoult is one of the biggest names out there, and she’s written loads of novels. My Mom and Nan have both recommended that I read some of her novels, so when I saw this in Oxfam I grabbed it. The blurb to this sounds really good and I’m sure I’ll love it!

 

 

 

The Bones Of You by Debbie Howells.

image4-12

The Bones of You is a gripping psychological thriller from author Debbie Howells; a story of full of dark secrets, obsession and suspense.

I have a gardener’s inherent belief in the natural order of things. Soft-petalled flowers that go to seed. The resolute passage of the seasons. Swallows that fly thousands of miles to follow the eternal summer.

Children who don’t die before their parents.

 

A community in shock

 

When eighteen-year-old Rosie Anderson disappears, the idyllic village where she lived will never be the same again. Local gardener Kate is struck with guilt. She’d come to know Rosie well, and thought she understood her – perhaps better even than Rosie’s own mother.

A family torn apart

 

Rosie was beautiful, kind and gentle. She came from a loving family and she had her whole life ahead of her. Who could possibly want to harm her? And why?

A keeper of secrets

 

Kate is convinced the police are missing something. She’s certain that someone in the village knows more than they’re letting on. As the investigation deepens, so does Kate’s obsession with solving the mystery of what happened to Rosie.

Why?

Another psychological thriller! Again, I’ve seen this likened to ‘The Girl On The Train’ on Pinterest. This has been on my wish list for a while, and a good friend of mine has read this and said it was good. I do really like the sound of this, and I’m looking forward to reading it!

 

 

 

The Girl In The Red Coat by Kate Hamer.

image1-19

Eight-year-old Carmel has always been different – sensitive, distracted, with an heartstopping tendency to go missing. Her mother Beth, newly single, worries about her daughter’s strangeness, especially as she is trying to rebuild a life for the two of them on her own.

When she takes Carmel for an outing to a local festival, her worst fear is realised: Carmel disappears into the crowd. Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth embarks on a mission to find her. Meanwhile, Carmel begins an extraordinary and terrifying journey of her own. But do the real clues to Carmel’s disappearance lie in the otherworldly qualities her mother had only begun to guess at?

Why?

I remember seeing this book advertised last year in the bestsellers section of almost every bookshop I set foot in. I’ve been looking out for this in charity shops for ages, and when I saw it in Oxfam I almost jumped for joy! In short: I’ve read this and reviewed it here. I absolutely LOVED this and would recommend it to everybody!

 

 

 

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

image6-8

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.

Why?

I’ve heard absolutely amazing things about this novel. It’s YA and has been really highly raved about – I’ve seen it mentioned all over the place! My good friend over at explorationofcreation reviewed this and really really inspired me to read it ASAP. I love the sound of the story, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy this. I’m currently reading it, and am loving it so far!

 

 

 

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse.

image2-20

A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage.

Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness. Until the day her husband fails to come home . . .

And can you ever really know what happened before you met?

Why?

And a final psychological thriller! I’ve not heard loads about this novel, but I’ve read a couple of reviews, and people really seem to be liking it. And I do really like the sound of the blurb (although I’m not sure why it’s so short!) I didn’t realise that the actual novel was so short either. At only 276 pages long, it’s a lot shorter than the novels I usually read. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing! I’ll probably pick this up when I want a really quick read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

16 thoughts on “Autumn 2016 Oxfam Book Haul

Leave a Reply

