Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all well. I’ve been tagged in a few different book tags recently, so I thought I’d combine three of my book tags in one post. Because I’m cramming three different tags in here, I’m not going to go into massive detail in my answers…but, as always, if you want to find out more just leave me a comment down below! Also, I’m only going to tag people in The Sunshine Blogger Award. So, here goes…

 

 

 


“This Or That” Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Danielle over at The Blonde Likes Books. Thankyou for tagging me!

 

THE RULES OF THE TAG:

  1. Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  2. Thank the blogger who tagged you
  3. Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose your answer, but you can if you want to!
  4. Tag 10 other people to do this tag to spread the love!

 

THE QUESTIONS:

1) Reading on the couch or on the bed?

I tend to read in all sorts of places! I do prefer reading in bed though – to me, there’s nothing better than curling up in bed with a great book to unwind after a stressful day.

2) Male main character or female main character?

Probably female! I tend to empathise more with female characters and can relate to female characters a lot more than male characters. However, I’ll still read lots of books with a male main character!

3) Sweet snacks or salty snacks when reading?

Sweet snacks. I have a real sweet tooth!

4) Trilogies or quartets?

I really don’t tend to read many series any more! But from the series I have read in the past, I’d definitely say trilogies.

5) First person point of view or third person point of view?

I love reading both and I believe that they both have their benefits/limitations. However, I do probably enjoy reading a first person point of view just a little bit more – I like to really get inside the characters’ heads!

6) Reading at night or in the morning?

I read whenever I can! But I do definitely read a lot more at night than I ever do in the morning – I’m currently at university so I’m usually out and about in the mornings.

7) Libraries or bookstores?

Bookstores! I have a bit of an obsession with collecting books – it’s just my thing. I love to buy books and I like showing off my collection. I do often buy from charity shops though!

oxfam_logo_horizontal_green_rgb

8) Books that make you laugh or make you cry?

Cry! I love books that make me feel emotional and really move me as a reader. I don’t really tend to buy many books that make me laugh, it’s just not my preferred experience as a reader.

9) Black book covers or white book covers?

Probably black. They look so much sleeker and sophisticated (in my opinion anyway).

image2 (1)

10) Character driven or plot driven stories?

This is a very tough one! I truly believe you have to get the balance just right and have equal emphasis on both in order to create a successful book. However, I would say that characters are a little bit more important to me personally – if I can’t relate to or sympathise with the characters, I’m probably not going to enjoy the book very much.

 

 


The Sunshine Blogger Award

I was tagged by the lovely Marta over at The Book Mermaid. Thanks Marta!

 

THE RULES OF THE TAG:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
  4.  List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

image2

 

THE QUESTIONS:

1) What are you currently reading?

For university – ‘The Life And Opinions Of Tristam Shandy, Gentleman’ for my Stories of the Novel module.

For pleasure – Katie Khan’s ‘Hold Back The Stars’.

image3-16

2) What is your reading goal for this year?

I haven’t actually got one! I didn’t get into blogging/twitter/goodreads until about 3 or 4 months ago, so I never set myself a goal. Next year I’ll definitely set myself one on Goodreads though!

3) Do you prefer sun or rain while reading?

Any weather! I’ll still read. But there is something about reading a good book on a rainy day…

4) Can you describe the last book you read in five words?

C.L. Taylor’s ‘The Accident’: Shocking, tense, unexpected, addictive, gripping

(Review to come soon)

image7-6

5) Do you have any shelves dedicated to a specific series? If yes, do you keep anything else related to it other than the books there?

No I don’t. The most specific shelf in my bookcase is the one that I keep my Classics and university books on. The rest of my shelves are ordered A-Z by author.

6) Who are your favourite female characters of all time?

So many! Lou Clark from Jojo Moyes’s ‘Me Before You’, Violet Markey from Jennifer Niven’s ‘All The Bright Places’, Rachel from ‘The Girl On The Train’, Carmel from ‘The Girl On The Red Coat’, and so many more. Those are just a few off the top of my head!

7) What is your favourite item on your shelves and why?

Without a doubt, it’s my beautiful hardback copies of The Bronte Sister’s stories and Jane Austen stories. They’re so gorgeous! They also hold a lot of sentimental value for me, as they were gifted to me by my Great Auntie and Uncle, who were so proud when they heard there may be a (potential) writer in the family. My Great Uncle is now very ill, so these mean a lot to me.

image1-27

8) What is your favourite TV show at the moment?

Anyone who knows me will know that I barely watch TV. I’m not currently watching any series on TV, but my all-time favourite TV show is Skins (UK).

9) What was your biggest reading disappointments of this year?

Probably Jane Shemilt’s ‘The Drowning Lesson’ or E. Lockhart’s ‘We Were Liars’.

image5 (1)

10) Do you usually write a bookish Christmas wishlist or let your family pick whatever they think you’d like?

Yes I do! None of my family are really into reading regularly like me, so they definitely need a few pointers!

11) What book you must finish before the end of 2016?

Jay Asher’s ‘What Light’. I need to read this before Christmas for sure!

image2-25

 

I TAG:

Lynne @ Fictionophile

Teacher of YA

Cleo @ Cleopatra Loves Books

Jess @ Theatre Fantasy

Megan @ Book Slayer Reads

Sumaya @ Sue’s Reading Corner

Sam @ Clues And Reviews

Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads

Annie @ The Misstery

Janel @ Keeper Of Pages

Jo @ My Chestnut Reading Tree

 

MY QUESTIONS:

1) What’s the next book on your TBR?

2) What’s your favourite snack to eat whilst reading?

3) How do you organise your books?

4) Do you tend to read more books written by female or male authors?

5) Are there any genres you don’t read at all?

6) What’s your favourite book to movie adaptation?

7) What was your most recent book disappointment?

8) Where do you usually buy your books from?

9) Which book are you most excited for that isn’t released yet?

10) Do any of your friends or family share your passion for reading?

11) What are the top 5 things you look for in a book?

 

 


The Versatile Blogger Award

I was nominated for this award by Marianne over at Storyscope. Thanks Marianne!

 

THE RULES OF THE TAG:

  • Display award
  • Thank the person who gave this award (and include a link to their blog)
  • Share seven things about yourself
  • Nominate ten bloggers

20161125-versatile-blogger-award

SEVEN FACTS ABOUT ME:

  • I’m massively into music and like to attend concerts and festivals whenever I can. My dream job is to become a music journalist!
  • I was classically trained playing the Piano and achieved my Grade 8 two years ago. I originally wanted my career to be in music – but I hated studying the subject at A-level and decided I wanted music to be my hobby instead. Unfortunately, I don’t play much anymore; I never seem to have the time!
  • I have two gorgeous golden retrievers who I would be lost without. If I’m away from home, I always miss them so so much! Here’s a picture of them (excuse the terrible lighting/quality):

image4-14

  • I was diagnosed with GAD and depression around 18 months ago, but looking back now, I definitely think I’ve had anxiety pretty much all my life. But it’s just a small part that makes me who I am, and it by no means defines me.
  • I’m also massively into makeup. I love to buy and try out new makeup – especially lipstick! But I haven’t bought any for a while now, and have instead been buying books.
  • I absolutely hated my school years and I don’t really have any good memories of being at school. However, I moved to a different sixth form and really found myself there. They were probably the best years of my life!
  • My Mom does most of the cooking in our house, but once a week (usually on a Friday or a Saturday night), I like to take some time out and unwind by cooking my family a lovely meal. I really enjoy cooking!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

24 thoughts on “Book Tags And Blogger Awards!

  1. Thanks for the tag! It was lovely to get to know you better! I too think I prefer female main characters. I want to read The Accident, I’ve read The Missing and The Lie and I really enjoyed them so I must get this one from the library, I’ll be keeping and eye out for your full review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! Ah I’m glad you think so 🙂 I think females do tend to be able to empathise and relate to other females better than they can with males. Ooh yes definitely read it, it’s fantastic! I’ve read The Lie too, so I’ve just got The Missing left now! Ah thankyou – I’ve got a couple of other reviews I want to post first but will get it up as soon as I can 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those Austen and Bronte editions are gorgeous! I found quite a beautiful edition of Wuthering Heights over the summer when my library was doing a book sale. I want to read What Light too but I doubt I’ll get to it (especially since I don’t have the book haha). I hope you enjoy it though! And thanks for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So interesting to hear that you only got into blogging about 3 or 4 months ago! I’m also a newbie and so I was excited to read that it’s possible to grow my blog in the months to come. I’ve been a huge reader all my life and regularly write reviews on different FB pages…but I’ only recently decided to start my blog, probably about 2 weeks ago now. Feel free to check it out at http://www.kime23.wixsite.com/thebuzzingbookmark. Big hugs and I’ll be following you on social media. Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the tag lovely, I think I already did this one… or was it another? Lol theyre so similar. I agree with you on the female thing, I prefer my characters to be female haha I want to read CL Taylor, I have her new one on my list!

    And it’s weird but I’d rather read in the mornings… at nights I fall asleep XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

