Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. So, we are rapidly approaching Christmas (so exciting!), and today I thought I’d share with you the top books on my Christmas list this year. There’s quite a few here, and obviously I’m not expecting to get all of these or anything…but I thought I’d put more on my list so that my family can choose for me and it’d be more of a surprise. So, here are the top books on my Christmas list this year…

 

 

 


Confess by Colleen Hoover.

51tmkrdivbl-_sx320_bo1204203200_

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping some major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

People keep telling me I need to read Colleen Hoover’s novels! I did some research and read a bit about all of her novels, and I think this one would be a great place to start. It sounds exactly like the kind of novel I know and love!

 

 


Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

51lyztpwaul-_sx320_bo1204203200_

They say ‘live every day as if it’s your last’ – but you never actually think it’s going to be. At least I didn’t.

The thing is, you don’t get to know when it happens. You don’t remember to tell your family that you love them or – in my case – remember to say goodbye to them at all.

But what if, like me, you could live your last day over and over again? Could you make it perfect? If your whole life flashed before your eyes, would you have no regrets? Or are there some things you’d want to change…?

This novel has been likened to ‘The Lovely Bones’, and I’ve had my eye on this for a while now. I think it sounds quirky and exciting, and I really like the idea that this novel is based around, as I often question what I’d do on my last day on earth!

 

 


Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider.

51aq6v5qrml-_sx326_bo1204203200_

When he’s sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens, Lane thinks his life may as well be over.
But when he meets Sadie and her friends – a group of eccentric troublemakers – he realises that maybe getting sick is just the beginning. That illness doesn’t have to define you, and that falling in love is its own cure.

A good friend of mine recommended this book to me, and I really want to read this. I can tell it’s going to be a really emotional, moving read – probably a tear-jerker! It’s YA too, which I’ve been trying to read more of recently.

 

 


The First Bad Man by Miranda July.

41nnlh5cfml-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Here is Cheryl, a tightly-wound, vulnerable woman who lives alone, with a perpetual lump in her throat. She is haunted by a baby boy she met when she was six, who sometimes recurs as other people’s babies. Cheryl is also obsessed with Phillip, a philandering board member at the women’s self-defense non-profit where she works. She believes they’ve been making love for many lifetimes, though they have yet to consummate in this one.

When Cheryl’s bosses ask if their twenty-one-year-old daughter Clee can move into her house for a little while, Cheryl’s eccentrically-ordered world explodes. And yet it is Clee–the selfish, cruel blond bombshell–who bullies Cheryl into reality and, unexpectedly, provides her the love of a lifetime.

I’ve heard many mixed reviews about this book, but I want to read it despite the negative reviews. I first heard this mentioned by one of my Creative Writing lecturers, and since then I’ve been intrigued. I’m excited to see what I make of this novel (if I get it!)

 

 


Wonder by R.J. Palacio.

41htbqm6w8l-_sx324_bo1204203200_

‘My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.’

Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things – eating ice cream, playing on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside. But ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids aren’t stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

Unlike the last book, I’ve only heard good things about this! It’s been getting loads of 5-star reviews, and I feel like this is going to be a powerful, epic read. I keep hearing about how good this book is, so I’m desperate to read it.

 

 


The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.

41akk9z302l-_sx315_bo1204203200_

I was supposed to be having the time of my life.

When Esther Greenwood wins an internship on a New York fashion magazine in 1953, she is elated, believing she will finally realise her dream to become a writer. But in between the cocktail parties and piles of manuscripts, Esther’s life begins to slide out of control. She finds herself spiralling into serious depression as she grapples with difficult relationships and a society which refuses to take her aspirations seriously.

I’ve been wanting to read this for years and years, but it’s quite expensive and I haven’t been able to find it in any charity shops. I’m absolutely desperate to read this! I can tell it’s going to be a dark, but important read.

 

 


The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish.

51ug8w7AQdL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

‘I can’t take my eyes off the water. Can you?’

It’s summer when Elm Hill lido opens, having stood empty for years. For Natalie Steele – wife, mother, teacher – it offers freedom from the tightly controlled routines of work and family. Especially when it leads her to Lara Channing, a charismatic former actress with a lavish bohemian lifestyle, who seems all too happy to invite Natalie into her elite circle.

Soon Natalie is spending long days at the pool, socializing with new friends and basking in a popularity she didn’t know she’d been missing. Real life, and the person she used to be, begins to feel very far away.

But is such a change in fortunes too good to be true? Why are dark memories of a summer long ago now threatening to surface? And, without realizing, could Natalie have been swept dangerously out of her depth?

A thriller set by the poolside – what could be better?! This novel only came out fairly recently, but I’ve seen it being spoken about a lot online and I really want to give it a go. If Clare Mackintosh enjoyed it, hopefully so will I!

 

 


The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey.

512zg7ibl-_sx313_bo1204203200_

Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?

This novel sounds right up my alley. I’ve seen this mentioned on Pinterest so many times in the last year or so – I really need to get my hands on a copy ASAP. I’m really intrigued by the blurb to this!

 

 


Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk.

41z2qpgjy8l-_sx323_bo1204203200_

She’s a catwalk model who has everything: a boyfriend, a career, a loyal best friend. But when a sudden motor ‘accident’ leaves her disfigured and incapable of speech, she goes from being the beautiful centre of attention to being an invisible monster, so hideous that no one will acknowledge she exists.

Enter Brandy Alexander, Queen Supreme, one operation away from being a real woman, who will teach her that reinventing yourself means erasing your past and making up something better, and that salvation hides in the last place you’ll ever want to look.

The narrator must exact revenge upon Evie, her best friend and fellow model; kidnap Manus, her two-timing ex-boyfriend; and hit the road with Brandy in search of a brand-new past, present and future.

I’ve heard so many good things about this novel! I think the blurb sounds really interesting, and this book discusses a topic that isn’t very widely spoken about. I’ve had my eye on this for a while now!

 

 


The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

51oFWTlj0EL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger. She wakes from a coma in hospital with no memory of how she got there or of the bizarre accident that caused the deaths of her best friends and her boyfriend, yet left her mysteriously unharmed. The doctors suggest that starting over in a new city, a new school, would be good for her and just to let the memories gradually come back on their own. But Mara’s new start is anything but comforting. She sees the faces of her dead friends everywhere, and when she suddenly begins to see other people’s deaths right before they happen, Mara wonders whether she’s going crazy! And if dealing with all this wasn’t enough, Noah Shaw, the most beautiful boy she has ever seen can’t seem to leave her alone… but as her life unravels around her, Mara can’t help but wonder if Noah has another agenda altogether…

This is the first book in a trilogy, and I don’t really tend to read any series…but perhaps I should. My good friend also recommended this book to me, and I think it sounds really good!

 

 

 

 

 


Happy reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “Books On My Christmas List: 2016

Leave a Reply

