Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. So today, I’m going to be posting my take on the Reading Bingo for 2016. I saw this post over on Cleopatra Loves Books and thought it was such a brilliant idea, and really wanted to give it a go! I’m going to do the Reading Bingo similarly to how Cleo has – the basic concept is that you try and tick off all the squares, giving examples of books you’ve read that fit in with each square. I’m going to try and mention books that I haven’t really spoken much about on my blog before, rather than just recycling books I’ve mentioned a lot in previous posts. So, here goes…

 

 

 


reading-bingo

 

A Book With More Than 500 Pages

image1-22

‘Handle With Care’ by Jodi Picoult. I read this recently and absolutely adored it, and I’ll definitely have to read more of Picoult’s novels. Review coming soon 🙂

 

A Book That Became A Movie

image10

‘White Oleander’ by Janet Finch. I absolutely love this book. I love Finch’s writing style; it’s so poetic and lyrical and beautiful. This is an extremely moving book with a very sad storyline. I didn’t think the film was very good though! It didn’t manage to capture any of that beauty or sadness in my opinion.

 

A Book Published This Year

what-alice-knew

‘What Alice Knew’ by T.A. Cotterell (well, the eBook has been published!) This is a true psychological thriller, but it’s also a pretty quirky book too. This is a very tense, mysterious read, with an absolutely shocking twist. Highly recommend this! I reviewed it here.

 

A Book With A Number In The Title

image1-29

‘Station Eleven’ by Emily St. John Mandel. I read this ages ago and can’t remember too much about it now, but I do remember that I didn’t particularly enjoy it. I didn’t feel that this book was anything special or remarkable, and I was pretty disappointed after hearing so much about it.

 

A Funny Book

image1-8

‘How To Be A Woman’ by Caitlin Moran. This novel is absolutely hilarious! It’s basically just a massive feminist rant by Moran, but it’s really really funny. She draws on some real life experiences in this work, and I think it’s just brilliant. Highly recommend this to all women!

 

A Book By A Female Author

image2-27

‘The Other Child’ by Lucy Atkins. I read this quite a while ago, but don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it on my blog. I remember really enjoying this – it was one of the first psychological thrillers I ever read.

 

A Book With A Mystery

image6

‘The Sea Sisters’ by Lucy Clarke. Clarke’s books are full of mystery and suspense, and this is my favourite novel by her. It’s a novel about secrets between sisters, and doing whatever it takes to find out the truth. It’s a really easy read and I highly recommend this!

 

A Book With A One-Word Title

image3-17

‘Sister’ by Rosamund Lupton. I had really high expectations for this novel after hearing loads about it, but I was quite disappointed. It was a good story and had lots of mystery and suspense, but it just wasn’t anything special at all, and didn’t make any sort of impact on me.

 

A Book Set On A Different Continent

image2-14

‘The Drowning Lesson’ by Jane Shemilt. The majority of this novel is based in Botswana. However, I absolutely hated this book! I really disliked the protagonist and thought she was so cold-hearted and cruel, and I really couldn’t relate to any of the characters in this book. I ended up being so frustrated that I put this down and never finished it.

 

The First Book By A Favourite Author

image1-19

‘The Girl In The Red Coat’ by Kate Hamer. I absolutely love this book, and even though Hamer has only written two novels, she’s quickly become one of my favourite authors. I’ve talked about this a lot recently and reviewed it here.

 

A Book You Heard About Online

image4-15

‘The Book Of You’ by Claire Kendal. I saw this on Pinterest, listed as a book similar to The Girl On The Train and Gone Girl. I did really enjoy this and thought the storyline was brilliant – however, it was very graphic and extremely uncomfortable to read at times.

 

A Best-Selling Book

image6-8

‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven. I read this recently and loved it so so so much. It made me cry so much! This was a really moving, impactful read and I highly recommend it to all of you out there. I reviewed it here.

 

A Book At The Bottom Of Your To Be Read Pile

image5-13

‘Strictly Between Us’ by Jane Fallon. I do want to read this but there’s so many books I want to read more urgently than this. I will get round to it eventually though!

 

A Book Your Friend Loves

image5-8

‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher. A close friend of mine really loves this book. I enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it. It discusses a very sensitive issue, and I just think that it really wasn’t as hard-hitting or moving as it definitely could have been.

 

A Book That Is More Than Ten Years Old

image12

‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier. I really don’t care how old this book is – I absolutely love it! It was one of my Grandma’s favourites, and one of my Mom’s favourites too. I think the story is brilliant and I’ll treasure this book forever!

 

The Second Book In A Series

image2-7

‘After You’ by Jojo Moyes. This is the sequel to Moyes’s brilliant novel ‘Me Before You’, which was also recently made into a film. However, ‘After You’ was a little disappointing. I did enjoy it and it was still a very good read, but I just felt that ‘Me Before You’ should have been left as a standalone.

 

A Book With A Blue Cover

image5

‘The Shock Of The Fall’ by Nathan Filer. This is possibly my favourite book of all time (I hate choosing favourites though!) I read it quite a while before I started blogging, so that’s why it hasn’t been mentioned much on here. This book moved me so deeply and it’s truly a masterpiece. I recommend this to you all!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reading Bingo 2016

  1. I have yet to read Handle With Care and I love JP books. She’s one of my fav authors! I can’t wait to see your thoughts!
    The Other Child looks so interesting! I’ve never heard of it before your post.
    13 Reasons Why is such an amazing book. I read it years ago! I’m glad you liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

