Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well, and I hope you all had a brilliant New Year’s Eve. I thought I’d kick off my first blog post of 2017 (!!!!) with my top 5 most anticipated book releases for this year. These are all from authors I’ve read before, and I truly cannot wait to get my hands on all of these! So, here goes…

 

 


The Sunshine Girls by Jane Green.

51zoahpgorl

Ronni Sunshine left London for Hollywood to become a beautiful, charismatic star of the silver screen. But at home, she was a narcissistic, disinterested mother who alienated her three daughters.
As soon as possible, tomboy Nell fled her mother s overbearing presence to work on a farm and find her own way in the world as a single mother. The target of her mother s criticism, Meredith never felt good enough, thin enough, pretty enough. Her life took her to London and into the arms of a man whom she may not even love. And Lizzy, the youngest, more like Ronni than any of them, seemed to have it easy, using her drive and ambition to build a culinary career to rival her mother s fame, while her marriage crumbled around her.
But now the Sunshine Girls are together again, called home by Ronni, who has learned that she has a serious disease and needs her daughters to fulfill her final wishes. And though Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy have never been close, their mother s illness draws them together to confront the old jealousies and secret fears that have threatened to tear these sisters apart. As they face the loss of their mother, they will discover if blood might be thicker than water after all…

Release Date: 15th June 2017

Why?

I love Jane Green’s novels! I love the way she constructs her characters and her stories, and her books are always easy to read. I’ve read ‘Saving Grave’ (which is my favourite of her books that I’ve read so far), ‘Tempting Fate’ and ‘Second Chance’, and absolutely love them all. Currently sitting on my shelf are also ‘Falling’ (which I was gifted for Christmas), ‘The Accidental Husband’ and ‘The Patchwork Marriage’, which I need to get around to reading ASAP. I truly cannot wait for the release of ‘The Sunshine Girls’!

 

 


The Breakdown by B.A. Paris.

51lq6olacil

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

It all started that night in the woods.

Cass Anderson didn’t stop to help the woman in the car, and now she’s dead.

Ever since, silent calls have been plaguing Cass and she’s sure someone is watching her.

Consumed by guilt, she’s also starting to forget things. Whether she took her pills, what her house alarm code is – and if the knife in the kitchen really had blood on it.

Release Date: 9th February 2017

Why?

I absolutely loved ‘Behind Closed Doors’, and thought it was an excellent debut novel. You’re probably all sick to death of hearing about how much I’ve been loving Psychological Thrillers recently – and this sounds like another great one. I can’t wait to get my hands on this, and I’m really hoping I enjoy it as much as I enjoyed ‘Behind Closed Doors’ – if I do, a review will be sure to follow!

 

 


The Doll Funeral by Kate Hamer.

61dzfbxypbl

My name is Ruby. I live with Barbara and Mick. They’re not my real parents, but they tell me what to do, and what to say. I’m supposed to say that the bruises on my arms and the black eye came from falling down the stairs.

But there are things I won’t say. I won’t tell them I’m going to hunt for my real parents. I don’t say a word about Shadow, who sits on the stairs, or the Wasp Lady I saw on the way to bed.

I did tell Mick that I saw the woman in the buttercup dress, hanging upside down from her seat belt deep in the forest at the back of our house. I told him I saw death crawl out of her. He said he’d give me a medal for lying.

I wasn’t lying. I’m a hunter for lost souls and I’m going to be with my real family. And I’m not going to let Mick stop me.

Release Date: 16th February 2017

Why?

I have already read an ARC of this book, so this won’t be a new read for me in 2017. However, of course I’m still so excited for it’s official release, and I’m excited to hear about what people think of the book. I reviewed ‘The Doll Funeral’ here, so be sure to check that out! This book is absolutely phenomenal and is well worth the read. I also adored Hamer’s first novel, ‘The Girl In The Red Coat’, and reviewed it here. I love Hamer’s writing and I’m going to continue supporting her and buying her books!

 

 


The Escape by C.L. Taylor.

410-hcqcal

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t.

The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there’s only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

Release Date: 23rd March 2017

Why?

I’ve read two of Taylor’s other books, ‘THE LIE’ and ‘THE ACCIDENT’, and I adored them both. In fact, ‘THE LIE’ was my first ever book review on this blog, which you can find here. I’m desperate to read ‘THE MISSING’ too, and will pick myself up a copy as soon as I can. ‘THE ESCAPE’ sounds brilliant and I’m so intrigued by the blurb. I love Taylor’s novels and I’ll continue to support her books for a long time!

 

 


Into The Water by Paula Hawkins.

91w1csesrsl

Into the Water is the incredible new standalone thriller from Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train. Published in over forty languages and now a No. 1 box office hit film starring Emily Blunt, The Girl on the Train is a global phenomenon.

With the same propulsion that captivated millions of readers worldwide in The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins unfurls a gripping, twisting, layered story set in a small riverside town. Once again Hawkins demonstrates her powerful understanding of human instincts and the damage they can inflict.

Into the Water is an addictive novel of psychological suspense about the slipperiness of the truth, and a family drowning in secrets.

Release Date: 2nd May 2017

Why?

The question on everybody’s lips (including my own) is “Will this be as good as The Girl On The Train?” And the answer is that I really don’t know. I loved ‘The Girl On The Train’ and I really enjoyed the film too, and it was the book that first introduced me to the world of Psychological Thrillers. I don’t know much about this book as the official blurb has not yet been released, but I’m still really excited. I just hope I enjoy this as much as her debut!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Anticipated Book Releases: 2017

Leave a Reply

