Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all well. Today’s post is going to be slightly different to my usual book or reading-related posts. I’m going to reflect on a few different things that have been happening in my life, and sharing (mostly) the positives with you all! I really don’t feel like any of you know that much about me personally, and so I decided to share some of these things with you. Here goes…

 

 


Reflecting On 2016

2016 was a very up-and-down year for me personally. I’ve achieved some amazing things – but there have been some difficult setbacks too. Here are some of the positive things I’ve achieved/obtained in 2016:

  • We got a new puppy (inserts picture below).

image1-32

  • I finished my first year of university, achieving a 2:1!
  • I started blogging in July 2016.
  • I quit my part-time job, which I absolutely hated.
  • I worked at Glastonbury and V Festival (spoken about here).

13516443_10206612556570529_4516823110160156604_n

  • I worked at a couple of magazines in the Summer (spoken about here).
  • I began my second year at university, studying English Lit modules that I’m enjoying a lot more.

 

The negative parts of the year were my ongoing battle with my mental health, particularly my anxiety.

Overall, 2016 was a bit of a rollercoaster year, but I’m going to try and put everything behind me and start afresh. Mainly, I want to work on myself this year, and most importantly I need to be more POSITIVE. I’m a massive pessimist and this, along with anxiety, makes my life hell sometimes. I need to try and fight this and be more optimistic about things, and not be so self-critical all the time!

 

 


Turning The Big 20!

So yesterday I turned 20! I’m excited to begin the next decade of my life and I’m excited for all the opportunities and the things I’ll get to do in my 20s. Mainly, I hope to finish university with a good grade and begin my career in journalism, and climb higher and higher up that career ladder.

But I’m also very scared at the thought of turning 20. When I was younger, I used to think that by 20, I’d have moved out, have a partner and be doing really well academically/professionally. But I was incredibly naive to think that because university life doesn’t work out that way, and nowadays people don’t move out and begin their career until later typically. It’s just what it is!

I’m sad to not be a teenager anymore. It’s time to grow up and it’s time to knuckle down and work hard. I’m at a good point in my life and I’m happy with what I’m doing at the moment and what I’ve achieved, and I just want to push myself harder and keep enjoying what I’m doing. This is an important decade in my life and I hope things work out!

 

 


University

For those of you who don’t know, I study English Literature and Creative Writing. I absolutely adore my course, but I find it a massive challenge, and I’m constantly working!

I’m really glad to have just handed in a big chunk of work. Over Christmas (we had a month off), I had a ton of reading to do, two Creative Writing portfolios/assessments and an English essay for my Gothic module. I’m pleased I managed to get everything done and it feels good to have all the deadlines out of the way.

I’ve also completely finished my Victorian module (the teaching anyway – we still have an exam in the Summer!) It was a challenging module and at times I hated it, but overall I did enjoy the module. I’m just about to start a brand new module, Stories Of The Novel, which I’m pretty nervous about! The books are all really difficult for this module, so I hope the teaching isn’t too bad.

image3-4

After a month off, I’m looking forward to going back and to begin learning again. I’m excited to start again!

 

 


Achieving 200 Followers on WordPress and 1000 Followers on Twitter

Towards the end of last year I gained 1000 followers on Twitter, and on the 2nd January, I achieved 200 followers on WordPress! I’m so so grateful to each and every one of you who follow and interact with and read my blog, and I’m so happy that so many of you seem to enjoy it. Reaching this milestone (especially since I’ve only been blogging for 6 months) is absolutely incredible, and I’m chuffed to pieces!

I’ve learned a lot whilst blogging so far and my blog posts have really come a long way since the first one 6 months ago! But I’ve got a lot to learn still, and I’m eager to keep learning and keep improving my blog. I’m going to aim for 2 blog posts a week in 2017 – but please note that I am a very busy person, and there will be times where I won’t be able to always do this.

If anybody has any suggestions for blog posts you’d like to see or just how I can generally improve my blog, please do comment and let me know. I love hearing from you all! I absolutely love writing blog posts – it’s a great stress reliever for me and it makes me incredibly happy, so I want to make sure you all feel that way when reading my posts too.

So again, thankyou to you all! I love my little blogging family 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

9 thoughts on “Reflecting On: 2016, Turning 20, University, 200 Followers & More…

Leave a Reply

