Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. So today I thought I’d share with you the books that I received for Christmas 2016. I received a lot of books for Christmas – I pretty much only asked for books and I was absolutely over the moon to receive 17 BOOKS! In fact, this haul is so massive that I’ve had to split it up into two parts – to save all my readers from getting too bored. So, here’s Part 1 of my Christmas book haul…

 

 


Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes.

image4-16

Catherine has been enjoying single life for long enough to know a good catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic and spontaneous, Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. But there is a dark side to him and his erratic, controlling and sometimes frightening behaviour means that Catherine is increasingly isolated. Driven into the darkest corner of her world, she plans a meticulous escape. Four years later, struggling to overcome her demons, Catherine dares to believe she might be safe from harm. Until one phone call changes everything…

Why?

I’m always on the hunt for a good Psychological Thriller, and I’m really loving the sub-genre of Domestic Thrillers at the moment – and this book sounds like it definitely fits that category! I think the blurb to this sounds really good and I’ve had my eye on this for a while now, and I’m really excited to finally have it!

 

 


The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge.

image3-18

Faith’s father has been found dead under mysterious circumstances, and as she is searching through his belongings for clues she discovers a strange tree. The tree only grows healthy and bears fruit if you whisper a lie to it. The fruit of the tree, when eaten, will deliver a hidden truth to the person who consumes it. The bigger the lie, the more people who believe it, the bigger the truth that is uncovered.

The girl realizes that she is good at lying and that the tree might hold the key to her father’s murder, so she begins to spread untruths far and wide across her small island community. But as her tales spiral out of control, she discovers that where lies seduce, truths shatter . . .

Why?

This book won the Costa Book of the Year in 2015, and the Costa Book Awards are my all time favourite awards, so I’m trying to read as many winners as possible. This doesn’t sound like my usual type of book and I’m pretty sure it’s tailored more to children and young adults, but it’s received rave reviews and I want to give it a go!

 

 


What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty.

image2-32

Alice is twenty-nine. She adores sleep, chocolate, and her ramshackle new house. She’s newly engaged to the wonderful Nick and is pregnant with her first baby.

There’s just one problem. All of that was ten years ago . . .

Alice has slipped in a step-aerobics class, hit her head and lost a decade. Now she’s a grown-up, bossy mother of three in the middle of a nasty divorce and her beloved sister Elisabeth isn’t speaking to her. This is her life but not as she knows it.

Clearly Alice has made some terrible mistakes. Just how much can happen in a decade?

Can she ever get back to the woman she used to be?

Why?

I read Liane Moriarty’s ‘The Husband’s Secret’ and really enjoyed it, so I’d definitely like to read more of her novels. I also own ‘Big Little Lies’ and haven’t got around to reading it yet, but I personally think this novel sounds better and like much more of a unique story. Can’t wait to read this!

 

 


The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.

image4-18

Angelfield House stands abandoned and forgotten. It was once home to the March family – fascinating, manipulative Isabelle, brutal, dangerous Charlie, and the wild, untamed twins, Emmeline and Adeline. But Angelfield House hides a chilling secret which strikes at the very heart of each of them, tearing their lives apart…

Now Margaret Lea is investigating Angelfield’s past – and the mystery of the March family starts to unravel. What has Angelfield been hiding? What is its connection with the enigmatic writer Vida Winter? And what is the secret that strikes at the heart of Margaret’s own, troubled life?

As Margaret digs deeper, two parallel stories unfold, and the tale she uncovers sheds a disturbing light on her own life…

Why?

I saw this book mentioned as a book similar to ‘Jane Eyre’ – which is my all time favourite Classic novel. So of course I was desperate to read this! This sounds like the kind of “mansion/family full of secrets” novel that I know and love, so I vow to get to this ASAP!

 

 


The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman.

image5-16

A boat washes up on the shore of a remote lighthouse keeper’s island. It holds a dead man – and a crying baby. The only two islanders, Tom and his wife Izzy, are about to make a devastating decision. They break the rules and follow their hearts. What happens next will break yours.

Why?

I mainly want to read this book due to the fact it’s going to be released as a film in 2017, and the trailer of the film looks really good – so of course I have to read the book first! I’ve seen some mixed reviews about this book, so I want to read it and form my own opinion. And then I’m sure I’ll end up seeing the film too!

 

 


Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier.

image2-31

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.

Why?

I’ve been wanting to read this for a really long time now. I absolutely adored ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier, and I know that this book is one of her most popular books. This makes a change to the usual sort of Contemporary novels I often read, so I’m looking forward to reading this!

 

 


Confess by Colleen Hoover.

image5-14

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping some major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

Why?

I’ve seen so many bloggers talking about Colleen Hoover, but I’ve never actually read any of her novels before! Lots of people tell me I need to read her novels, so I’m so glad to finally have one. I did my research first and thought the blurb to this sounded really good, so I really hope I enjoy this!

 

 


North Of Beautiful by Justina Chen.

image5-15

As he continued to stare, I wanted to point to my cheek and remind him, But you were the one who wanted this, remember? You’re the one who asked-and I repeat-Why not fix your face?
It’s hard not to notice Terra Cooper.
She’s tall, blond, and has an enviable body. But with one turn of her cheek, all people notice is her unmistakably “flawed” face. Terra secretly plans to leave her stifling small town in the Northwest and escape to an East Coast college, but gets pushed off-course by her controlling father. When an unexpected collision puts Terra directly in Jacob’s path, the handsome but quirky Goth boy immediately challenges her assumptions about herself and her life, and she is forced in yet another direction. With her carefully laid plans disrupted, will Terra be able to find her true path?

Why?

Of course I had to throw in some YA to my book haul! I can’t remember where I heard about this novel, but I remember thinking the blurb was really interesting and that this is a topic that isn’t covered that much in novels. I have actually already read this – I enjoyed it but didn’t love it, and gave it 3.5 stars.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

5 thoughts on “Christmas Book Haul 2016 Part 1

Leave a Reply

