Hello everyone and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today’s post is going to be a recap of all the books I read in February 2017. I’ll be rating them all and giving some brief thoughts on each book. This month I read 10 books/short stories, which is pretty good going as it was a busy month for me and I had to take a few days off reading. This is a new feature I started on my blog only last month (check out my January 2017 Reads here) and I’m really enjoying writing these posts – I hope you enjoy reading them! To find out what I’m reading on the go, you can follow me on Goodreads here. As always, feel free to leave me a comment and let me know if you’ve read any of these, or just let me know what you’ve been reading recently! Here goes…

 

 


Reading For Pleasure

Confess by Colleen Hoover.

image5-14

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

Wow, this was a brilliant read! I’ve heard so many good things about Colleen Hoover’s writing and loads of people have recommended her books to me, and I’m so glad I finally picked one up. This is a Romance novel, but definitely isn’t your typical romance – it has plenty of action, and there are loads of twists and turns along the way. I really rooted for the protagonists and my heart broke every time something went wrong for them. Hoover constructs excellent characters and brilliant plots…highly recommend this!

 

Paris For One by Jojo Moyes.

image1-38

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of Paris For One and Other Stories by Penguin Random House).

For a short story of only around 100 pages, this is really well developed. I’m not used to reading short stories so this was a rare occurrence for me, but I’m glad I took the time out to read this. I’m not going to say too much about it as I reviewed it in full here. Essentially, I really enjoyed this and it was a lovely, light-hearted read – despite the fact it was slightly cliche at times.

 

Honeymoon In Paris by Jojo Moyes.

image1-38

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of Paris For One and Other Stories by Penguin Random House).

Again, I really enjoyed this, and it was a fabulous light-hearted read. It is shorter than the previous story, meaning that I felt the characters weren’t quite as well developed; but still brilliantly so given the length. I reviewed this in full here. Moyes’ writing is again very strong, and this story is slightly less cliche than the previous and deals with some interesting relationship issues. A good read!

 

Asking For It by Louise O’Neill.

image1-44

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I’m not going to go into too much detail on this post as I have reviewed it in full here. This was a deeply moving and emotional read that expertly tackles the issue of rape culture. This book is hard-hitting and tough, and it shouldn’t be taken lightly. O’Neill’s writing is strong and to the point, and she really provoked me to think deeply about this issue. An excellent read – but make sure you prepare yourself emotionally first!

 

The Pact by Jodi Picoult.

image1 (45)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

What an excellent novel! I really loved this, and got so absorbed in the story. I have a full review of this coming soon on my blog, so keep your eyes peeled for that. As always, Picoult creates brilliant characters in this complex, moving novel. She tackles lots of different issues expertly, and this was a pretty emotional read. The final scene was absolutely incredible! Highly recommend this.

 

Falling by Jane Green.

image2 (37)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

Jane Green is one of my favourite authors, but I was extremely disappointed by this. It’s a Romance novel about a lady who falls in love with her landlord. However, it’s way too cringey and cliche for my liking. I pretty much predicted almost everything that happened, and if I’m honest this novel just didn’t excite me very much. The characters were pretty wooden and flat too. It was interesting to read about how the protagonists relationship progressed, but ultimately this novel just didn’t do it for me.

 

The Owl Always Hunts At Night by Samuel Bjork

51sqgmZJLVL

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

(I was sent an ARC of this by Transworld Publishers.)

I reviewed this in full here, so be sure to check that out! I really enjoyed this Crime/Murder Mystery novel. The writing was absolutely excellent, and the crime that takes place is pretty much unsolvable until the very end. This had everything I look for in a Crime novel, and I’m so glad I read this. I just wish I’d read the first novel in this series – I’ll have to now! My only criticism is that it took a while to get into this – but once I was, I was hooked.

 

The Girls In The Garden by Lisa Jewell.

image5 (18)

Image result for star clipart

Wow, this is the most disappointing book I’ve read in a while. I loved Jewell’s ‘The House We Grew Up In’, so had very high expectations for this. I actually only read just over 100 pages of this and then gave up on it – something that happens VERY RARELY. Essentially, I just thought the writing was really poor. The novel opens with some exciting action, but then we go straight back out of the action and there’s lots of character building, all of which is very poor and very dull. There are too many characters to get to grips with, they are all wooden and flat, and the book really isn’t edited very well at all. Also, I was really disappointed with the stereotypical and negative attitudes towards mental illness. All of these things frustrated me so much that I had no desire to read on.

 

 

Reading For University

For those of you who don’t know, I study English Literature and Creative Writing at university. This month I finished off the last couple of books for this year – so glad I’ve finally got all of the reading finished!

 

The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks.

image3 (23)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I read this novel for my English Literature Gothic module. I absolutely loved this! It’s very dark but extremely well-written. The protagonist was a brilliantly constructed character – he’s evil, but also pretty likeable. There’s much more to him than you first may think. This novel is very shocking and suspenseful, and it was almost impossible to predict what was going to happen. The ending was amazing, and contained a very shocking twist! Highly recommend this for those of you who enjoy stranger/darker Gothic novels.

 

Evelina by Frances Burney.

image4 (20)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I was required to read this novel for my English Literature Stories of the Novel module. This is by far the most enjoyable book set on the course. This is a satirical and strongly feminist account of what it’s like to live in eighteenth-century London as a woman. This was an enjoyable read overall. I really empathised with Evelina, the protagonist, and found myself rooting for her when things went wrong. The romance elements in the novel were very interesting, and overall this was a fairly good read!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

