Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today’s post is going to be my Monthly Reads of March 2017. I’ll be telling you all about the books I read in the month of March, and running you through some of my thoughts on them. This month I only managed 7 books, which isn’t that great for me. I’ve been really busy with university work – we have lots of assignments at the moment and exams coming up, so that has had to take priority. As always, feel free to leave a comment and get in touch – let me know if you’ve read any of these books, or let me know which books you read in March! So, here goes…

 

 


The Good Daughter by Alexandra Burt.

image2 (42)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

(I was sent an ARC of this by Harper Collins.)

I was sent this book in preparation of the blog tour which I took part in earlier this month – you can check out my participation in the blog tour here. I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. I personally felt that the beginning of the novel was quite confusing, and it’s VERY LONG; in my opinion quite a large chunk of it could have been cut down. It also took me a long time to get into the story and to distinguish exactly what was happening. However, I really enjoyed the story towards the end of the novel and everything comes together brilliantly. I would recommend it to those of you who like more slow-paced thrillers.

 

 


The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney.

image1-14

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I have really mixed feelings about this book. I thought that it started really strongly, and the opening really hooked me in. I was personally most interested/invested in the Tellers’ marriage and relationship – but the middle of the novel becomes quite confusing, and it moves away from this relationship. I didn’t particularly like the protagonist that much and didn’t feel like I could relate to her at all. I really enjoyed the flashbacks to Rachel’s past, but felt that these could have been developed so much more. Overall, I enjoyed this book, but none of it was particularly memorable, and almost a month on and I’ve forgotten most of it.

 

 


The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson.

image1 (48)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

I have a full review of this going up soon, so I’m not going to go into too much detail about it here. I really really loved this, and I felt it was an excellent contender of the thriller/crime genre. There’s plenty of action and suspense throughout, the way that the plot unfolds is brilliant and clever, and all of the characters are so well constructed! A truly masterful novel with plenty of twists and turns. Stay tuned for my review to find out more!

 

 


Black Water by Louise Doughty.

image3 (27)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of this by Faber & Faber.)

I was sent this book in preparation for my participation in the blog tour – you can check out my post here. This is in no way a bad book, but it just wasn’t my personal cup of tea. In fact, I can really appreciate this novel – Doughty has plenty of skill in creating characters and a very interesting plot, and it’s clear to see that SO much research went into this book. It’s very political-based and that’s why this novel wasn’t for me. Those of you who have an interest in politics and current affairs, and love your thrillers too, will probably really enjoy this novel.

 

 


THE ESCAPE by C.L. Taylor.

image1 (49)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of this by Avon Books.)

I’m not going to go into too much detail about this, as I’ve already reviewed it in full here. I absolutely adore C.L. Taylor’s novels, and had really high expectations for this – and it definitely did not disappoint! The plot was excellent, and I loved the way that everything came together at the end. The characters were all brilliantly-constructed, and I became obsessed with finding out what would happen to Jo and Elise. There’s lots of twists and turns, and the ending is astounding. The ONLY criticism I have about this is that I didn’t feel that the plot/premise was as original as her other thrillers – but still amazing all the same!

 

 


Cemetery Girl by David Bell.

image6-11

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I did like this book, but it has a lot of flaws. I was really intrigued by the premise to this, particularly the fact that Caitlin comes back after disappearing and seems fine. Caitlin’s character was very interesting and unique, and I loved learning about what exactly happened to her. However, I disliked the narrator and his wife Abby – both were pretty ridiculous stereotypical characters, and both were pretty flat too. I didn’t feel that either of them were particularly passionate about their daughter. The pacing to this was a bit all over the place, and I enjoyed the beginning much more than the middle sections. I did like the ending though, and was satisfied with how events were resolved.

 

 


The Restless Dead by Simon Beckett.

image1 (50)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of this by Penguin/Bantam Press.)

I took part in the blog tour for this novel, which you can check out here. This is a really excellent novel if you enjoy straightforward, no-nonsense crime novels. There’s lots of gruesome bodies, and the team work together to discover whodunnit. I liked the narrator, although he was a flawed character, and I enjoyed reading events from his perspective. I especially enjoyed learning about his job at the crime scenes. For me, personally, I like a bit more gradual suspense in a story. I wasn’t a fan of how the mentally ill character was depicted, but luckily he was only a minor character. Overall, a brilliant standard crime novel!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Monthly Reads: March 2017

Leave a Reply

