Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today’s post is my Monthly Reads of April 2017. This month was a really bad month for reading for me personally, as I only managed a measly 4 books. I do have an excuse though – the university year has been coming to a close recently, meaning I’ve had endless amount of work to do, in the form of both assignments and exams. But luckily my exams will be finished around the middle of May, and after that I’ll have so much time to read as much as I want! I really can’t wait. So, here goes…

 

 


In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings.

image1 (51)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

I’m not going to go into loads of detail about this now, as I’ve already reviewed it in full here – be sure to check that out. This was SO almost a 5 star read! It’s definitely one of the best thrillers I’ve ever read. It’s compelling and addictive, with a brilliantly developed plot and excellent characters. The only thing that brought it down for me was the fact that some scenes were very dark and difficult to read. But aside from that, this book is absolutely sensational, and I highly recommend it to all you thriller lovers out there!

 

 


Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton.

image2-15

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I read this as a bit of a break from all the thriller novels I’ve been so into recently (it’s a YA contemporary.) I liked this book overall, but the ending really ruined it for me. I was annoyed that the topic of mental illness was just thrown in at the end and was never really explored or developed properly. I did really like the protagonist, and the fact that she was mute added something really new and different to the novel – I’ve never read anything with a mute protagonist before! I enjoyed reading about her personal journey, and the progression of hers and Jasmine’s relationship. Overall, this book was fun and enjoyable, but wasn’t particularly memorable or impactful. A good LGBT YA read (apart from that ending!)

 

 


The Bones Of You by Debbie Howells.

image4-12

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

A really excellent read! I have a full review of this coming soon so I’m not going to say too much here. This was much darker than I expected at first and some scenes were quite uncomfortable to read, but the progression of the plot was so so good! The characters were all exceptional, especially Kate and Delphine. And reading Rosie’s perspective was very interesting and unique. The ending was absolutely incredible – the plot twist is just insane! Stay tuned for my full review.

 

 


Into The Water by Paula Hawkins.

91W1CsESRSL

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

(I was sent an ARC of this by Penguin Random House.)

Again, I’ve reviewed this in full here so won’t go into too much detail. This is a brilliant read, regardless of the fact that it didn’t top ‘The Girl On The Train’ for me personally. There’s so much suspense and mystery in this! Hawkins’ snappy, fast-paced writing style is back again – I just loved the way the book was written. The ending is absolutely excellent, and I was so shocked! The only issue I had with this book is that I felt that there were too many characters included. There’s an awful lot of perspectives! Highly recommend this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

