Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today’s post is going to be my Spring 2017 Book Haul. I finished my second year university exams recently, and so I had to treat myself to some new books! I’ll let you know which books I bought and some brief information on each. So, here goes…

 

 


The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena.

image3 (28)

You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.

Your neighbour told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.

Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.

You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.

What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?

 

Why?

I’ve heard a lot about this book, mainly good things but also some negative reviews, and so I’m excited to give it a read and formulate my own opinions. As most of my readers know, I’m loving Psychological Thrillers at the moment, and the blurb to this really intrigued me. Let’s hope I enjoy it!

 

 

Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin.

image1 (54)

A chilling new thriller that gets into the heart and mind of the killer, and the victim . . .

Seventeen-year-old Tessa, dubbed a ‘Black-Eyed Susan’ by the media, became famous for being the only victim to survive the vicious attack of a serial killer. Her testimony helped to put a dangerous criminal behind bars – or so she thought.

Now, decades later the black-eyed susans planted outside Tessa’s bedroom window seem to be a message from a killer who should be safely in prison.

Haunted by fragmented memories of the night she was attacked and terrified for her own teenage daughter’s safety, can Tessa uncover the truth about the killer before it’s too late?

 

Why?

This is another book that I’ve seen being talked about a lot on social media, and a lot of fellow bloggers have reviewed this, so it was pretty high up on my TBR list. Another thriller – but this one sounds a bit more unique and quirky than some of the others I’ve bought/read recently. Excited to read this!

 

 

The Green Road by Anne Enright.

image1 (55)

Hanna, Dan, Constance and Emmet return to the west coast of Ireland for a final family Christmas in the home their mother is about to sell. As the feast turns to near painful comedy, a last, desperate act from Rosaleen – a woman who doesn’t quite know how to love her children – forces them to confront the weight of family ties and the road that brought them home.

 

Why?

The official reading lists for my English Literature modules for final year at university have not yet been published, but I’m pretty sure this book will be on the “Gender and Irish Fiction” module – so when I saw it in Oxfam I thought I’d pick it up anyway. The blurb really doesn’t give much away but this book has won loads of awards, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it!

 

 

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult.

image5 (20)

When a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father.

What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.

Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us.

It is about opening your eyes.

 

Why?

I’ve heard SO many good things about this book, and I’m aware that it addresses some very important issues in today’s society. I’ve read ‘Handle With Care’ (which you can find my review for here) and ‘The Pact’ (review here) by Jodi Picoult and loved them both, and have a couple of others by her sitting on my shelf. I’m sure I’ll love this!

 

 

How I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst.

image2 (46)

My name is Emma Cartwright. Three years ago I was Susan Webster, and I murdered my twelve-week-old son Dylan.

I have no memory of what happened but you believe what your loved ones, your doctor and the police are telling you, don’t you?

But if you can’t remember what happened, how can you be sure that they are telling the truth?

And if there was the smallest chance your son was alive, wouldn’t you do anything to get him back?
If there was the smallest chance your son was alive, what would you do to get him back?

 

Why?

I’ve had this book on my TBR for quite a while now, and finally spotted it in my local Oxfam! It has very high ratings/reviews on Goodreads, so I’m hoping that it’s good. I’m intrigued by the whole idea of a mother murdering her son but having no recollection, so I can’t wait to get to this.

 

 

I See You by Clare Mackintosh.

image2 (45)

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation: just a grainy image, a website address and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make . . .

 

Why?

I read and reviewed Clare Mackintosh’s ‘I Let You Go’ (my review can be found here) and I really loved it, so I just had to pick up her latest novel when I saw it on the shelves at a supermarket. I don’t really know very much about this, but I do know that I have high expectations!

 

 

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin.

image4 (25)

It is Ireland in the early 1950s and for Eilis Lacey, as for so many young Irish girls, opportunities are scarce. So when her sister arranges for her to emigrate to New York, Eilis knows she must go.

Arriving in a crowded lodging house in Brooklyn, Eilis can only be reminded of what she has sacrificed. And just as she takes tentative steps towards friendship, and perhaps something more, Eilis receives news which sends her back to Ireland. There she will be confronted by a terrible dilemma – a devastating choice between duty and one great love.

 

Why?

This is another book that is very likely to feature in my “Gender and Irish Fiction” English Lit module next year, so thought I’d get it when I found it at Oxfam. I’ve heard a lot of good things about both the book and the film adaptation, so I’m hoping that I’ll really enjoy it!

 

 

The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer.

image3 (29)

They wanted the same things. Death – and an audience.

Eve Singer makes her living from death. As a TV crime reporter, she’ll go to any length to get the latest scoop.

But when a twisted serial killer starts using her to gain the publicity he craves, Eve must decide how far she’s willing to go – and how close she’ll let him get . . .

 

Why?

I really really like the sound of this, and I’m so intrigued by the blurb. I’ve read a lot of very positive reviews, and it’s got a high rating overall on Goodreads. I’m very excited to get to this ASAP, and I have a very good feeling about this one!

 

 

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton.

image4 (24)

You’ve been held captive in one room.

You’ve been mentally and physically abused every day since you were sixteen years old.

Then, one night, you realise your captor has left the door to your cell unlocked.

For the first time in eight years you’re free.

This is what happens next.

 

Why?

I was drawn to this because I thought it sounded similar to Emma Donoghue’s ‘Room’, which I absolutely loved. Novels about isolation or abuse do really intrigue me, and I find it interesting to read about how these sufferers integrate back into society. I have already read this and it was absolutely sensational – I really really enjoyed it. I’ll have a full review on my blog soon, so watch out for that!

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

