Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today I’m going to be posting my Monthly Reads May 2017 post. I’ll be letting you know all about the books I read in the month of May, and some brief thoughts on each. May was a very strange month for me. I had my second year university exams this month – so for the first half of May I wasn’t reading at all as I was so focused on revising. I finished my last exam on the 17th May and my reading really picked up after that. So, overall I read a total of 4 books in May. I know that isn’t many, but I have the whole of the Summer to read as much as I want now – so expect a lot more books in my Monthly Reads June 2017 post! Here goes…

 

 

 


Obsession by Amanda Robson.

image1 (53)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart.5

(I was sent an ARC of this by Avon).

I’m not going to go into too much detail about this book now, as I’ve already reviewed it in full here. This is an excellent thriller, jam-packed full with lots of suspense, brilliantly-constructed characters and a fantastic (but devastating) ending. It addresses many important issues, and I’d highly recommend this to those of you who enjoy slightly darker thrillers.

 

 


Baby Doll by Hollie Overton.

image4 (24)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I have a full review of this coming soon on my blog, so keep your eyes out for that! This novel is absolutely phenomenal, and I read it in only two sittings. It has some similarities to Emma Donoghue’s ‘Room’, but is still very unique. This is a difficult read, but a very inspiring and important one. Highly recommend this!

 

 


The Honeymoon by Tina Seskis.

image1 (56)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I’ve already reviewed this book in full here, so be sure to check it out. This is a very good, claustrophobic psychological thriller. Seskis throws in so many red herrings, and it’s impossible to guess who is behind Jamie’s disappearance. The ending is brilliant, and I never could have anticipated what happens. An excellent read!

 

 


How I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst.

image2 (46)

Image result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipartImage result for star clipart

I’ll be posting a full review of this coming soon, so keep a lookout for that! This is another fantastic thriller, but a very complex and sophisticated one. The narrative is interesting and full of suspense throughout, and it builds and builds to an explosive ending. The novel has a couple of flaws (which I will go into in my full review), but it’s a fantastic read nonetheless.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

